So it starts.

I’m starting this site because I’m committing myself to balance, health and respecting my body.  I have spent years abusing myself – alternating periods between starvation and binge-eating.  I used to over-exercise and abuse diet pills.  I’ve always been a small person, but have never felt like one.  I want to learn balance and respect for my health and body.  I want to live in a way that is sustainable, and get out of my routines.  So here I am!

I had a bit of a rough night responding to a work emergency.  I didn’t sleep much, but this usually doesn’t keep me from getting up early to go for a morning run.  My day doesn’t feel right if I don’t work out.  I used to work out two or three times a day, and now I work out six times a week, just once a day, and I always take a rest day to let my body recover.  I ran 7 miles this morning.  It was muggy and warm out, but it didn’t bother me much today.

I usually run/work out on campus, shower at the campus gym, and then go to work.  The first thing I do is turn on my computer to catch up on emails and review my schedule while eating breakfast.  Today, I had a cup of this new cereal I’m trying out (Fiber Plus Antioxidants).  It’s actually pretty good.  It’s high in fiber, no high fructose corn syrup and not too high in sugar (8 g per 3/4 cup serving).  I also love cinnamon, and it’s very cinnamon-y.

I was super busy at work and ended up eating a late lunch (after a snack of a handful of raw, whole almonds late-morning).  This is one of my favorite meals – stir fried brown rice vermicelli with lots of veggies (this time, cabbage, carrots, shiitake mushrooms and tomato).  I know it’s deficient in protein, but the noodles are whole grain and high in fiber.  I added a little bit of curry powder and chili garlic sauce for flavor.

My husband was due to come home late from work so I didn’t wait for him to eat dinner.  I actually had another bowl of these noodles.  I spent Labor Day cooking and prepping lots of food so I would have an easier week.  I cooked a whole bunch of these noodles.  🙂

I wanted something sweet and with some protein, so I made myself a mug of hot chocolate with organic 2% milk, stevia and cocoa powder.  It totally hit the spot and comforted me after an emotionally draining day at work.

I’m currently cooking my husband’s dinner now.  I like to have a hot dinner waiting for him at home when gets back from a long day.  I know that’s kind of 1950’s, but I’m proud of being able to put a homecooked meal on the table almost every day of the week.

These long beans are going to be stirfried when he calls to let me know he’s on his way home.  I’ve already cut and blanched them, and they’re ready to hit a hot wok.

and this stew is simmering on the stove.  There’s organic ground turkey, mushrooms, organic soft tofu, garlic and scallions in a homemade chicken broth thickened with some tapioca starch.  I know it doesn’t look particularly appetizing, but served over a bowl of hot rice, it’s a very comforting meal.  I won’t eat this with him tonight since I’ve already eaten, but there will probably be leftovers for me to eat tomorrow.  I’ll also pack him a serving of dinner for my husband’s lunch tomorrow.

Thanks for visiting!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So it starts.

  1. actorsdiet says:

    i like to have dinner waiting for my hubby too – but it’s not quite so put together! more like, “there’s veggie burgers in the freezer, babe. want me to heat one up?!”

Leave a Reply

