Labor Day Weekend Eats

My husband and I ate really well over the long weekend!  Here’s a glimpse..

We grilled our own turkey burgers (with free range, organic ground turkey) and had a lot of toppings!  My husband had his on a white roll, while I had mine on double fiber whole wheat bread.  We both topped our burgers with swiss cheese, caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, a slice of tomato and avocado.  They were absolutely delicious.

I also took advantage of the extra day off to do something productive – I wrapped dozens of wontons and dumplings to freeze for easy meals.  To freeze these, I lined them up on a baking sheet so that they were not touching each other and froze them for about twenty minutes, until the skins are no longer sticky.  Then I could put them in ziploc bags and they won’t stick together.

I did pan fry and steam some of the dumplings for us to eat for brunch on Monday.

The filling was organic ground turkey, shiitake mushrooms and napa cabbage.  My husband didn’t ask (and perhaps didn’t notice?) that these weren’t made with pork (which is more traditional).  Anyhow, it felt great to get the freezer stocked with convenient food that we could cook in minutes in the future and still have a homemade meal.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

