Crazy Life

My life has been crazy.  Working full-time and getting my master’s degree part-time is a LOT.  And I know a lot of people do it, but I have felt overwhelmed lately – mostly because this is my busy season at work so I am also working long hours, and those hours are frenzied and hectic.  I can’t remember the last time I took a lunch break or worked a decent 8 or 9 hour day.

I ended up skipping meals on Thursday and Friday.  I always reliably eat breakfast – I’m usually pretty hungry after working out, so that’s not an issue.  But when I get busy, I’ll often skip lunch, and since I had class on Thursday, I also ended up skipping dinner.  I need to be careful NOT to do this.  Skipping meals is a huge trigger for me to the days where I kept my caloric intake extremely low.  Last night, my husband took me grocery shopping and we looked for snacks that I can keep in the office and easily eat as I’m working.

This is a meal I cooked for my husband on Wednesday night (he also ate leftovers for lunch on Thursday), cashew chicken, one of my favorites.  I use whole cashews, diced celery, onions, celery, and chicken breast.  The secret ingredient (not so secret – I don’t believe in secret recipes – recipes are meant to be shared) is honey.  I served this with steamed brown rice.

I made cinnamon oatmeal cookies for my community group.  I made them tiny – two bites – and one batch had 3 cups of oats in it!  I also used whole wheat flour.  Everybody enjoyed them.  I had one on Wednesday night at my group:

And then it was Thursday and Friday, when I ate cereal for breakfast, and little else .. not good.  Today, it’s Saturday.  I am an early bird and even though I didn’t have to, I got up at 6 (I get up at 4:15 on the weekdays!).  It’s my day off from working out, so I’m going to enjoy my coffee while reading my Google reader, do some yoga and go to the farmer’s market.  My plans today involve studying, homework and cooking dinner at some point.  Hope you are having a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crazy Life

  1. actorsdiet says:

    when things get bonkers for me (as they have been lately) i tend to snack more than eat meals. i miss my meals!

Leave a Reply

