Game Day

I am still getting used to living in a college town.  More specifically, a college town that is crazy about college football.  The last place I lived was Washington, DC, which didn’t really have a huge college football fan base.  Now, I live smack dab in town with a large state university (where I both work and go to school), so college football becomes a part of my life too, whether I like it or not!  On game days, it’s hard to go anywhere.  The streets are backed up, and the grocery stores are packed.  I usually opt to stay home.  Today, I volunteered to help an elementary school that sells parking spots to earn money for the PTA.  I was out in the hot sun for a couple of hours taking people’s money and directing them to parking spots, but they really appreciated the help.

But, before all that madness, I went to the farmer’s market.  I ended up with all this gorgeous, local produce for less than $10.  A canteloupe, sweet potatoes, eggplant, tomatoes, and fresh eggs.

I decided to make a farmer’s market breakfast for myself, but while I waited for one of the sweet potatoes to bake in the oven, I was hungry, so I cut the canteloupe and had some .. it was the absolute perfect ripeness!

My farmer’s market breakfast – baked sweet potato, sliced tomato, and fried egg.  It was so delicious.  Eggs are one of my favorite foods but since my cholesterol is on the high side (it runs in my family), I don’t enjoy them whole much – only occasionally!

Then after a couple of hours out in the sun, I was hungry, so I had some Fiber Plus Antioxidants cereal ..

For dinner, I roasted an organic chicken on a bundt pan (it didn’t come out as well as my normal roast chicken .. I was just giving it a shot!) on top of some organic potatoes, onions and carrots.

For our side dish, I roasted the farmer’s market eggplant in the oven for 40 minutes.  In the meantime, I sauteed some onions and garlic in olive oil, then added quartered crimini mushrooms and tomatoes.  When the eggplant was done roasting, I added that to the pot and simmered it all together for about 30 minutes with a sprig of rosemary.  This side dish was to die for though it doesn’t look like much.

The finished chicken and some brown rice..

My plate, a little of everything.  It felt SO good to sit down with my husband and enjoy a meal together.  We’re just so busy these days that we almost always end up eating separately during the week.

I baked this banana bread today too, for my community group on Wednesday.  My trick is that after I bake over the weekend, I freeze the goods so that I have it ready to go during the week.  That way, I can still bring from-scratch treats for my friends to enjoy.  Banana bread is one of my favorites, and I couldn’t resist eating a piece warm out of the oven for dessert.  🙂

Then I spent the evening writing a paper and now I’m ready to watch some TV and turn in.  I’m glad it’s the weekend, but I’m always a little sad when Sunday rolls back around because I know that the hecticness of life is right around the corner again.  Luckily, the next weekend is never too far away.  🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

