Balance

On the radio today, I heard people talking about not making resolutions for the new year, but rather choosing a word that will be important to them during the new year.  I do plan on sharing some resolutions here tomorrow, but if I had to choose a word to focus on next year, it would be “BALANCE.”  I lack balance in my life.  I’m such an extreme person.  I can’t just work out 30-45 minutes a day – I work out 60-90 minutes a day, often 7 times a week.  I wake up at ungodly hours to have time to do this before work and if I don’t, my day is completely off.  I used to find it easier to eat nothing and restrict rather than try to eat normally.  Now, I’m just too rigid.  I track every calorie and don’t yet, after all these years of trying, to have a healthy relationship with food and my body.  I’m a total workaholic as well – so, work/life balance is another important thing I need to work on.  In fact, most of my resolutions (if not all) will be trying to achieve a sense of balance in various areas of my life.

Today started with a six-mile run (during which I got chased by a stray dog – scary!).  As usual, I had very specific plans and a timeline for the day, so after a quick shower, I took my cereal to go (no worries, I took this picture while parked in my driveway!).

I was hungry when I got back, so while I cooked lunch, I snacked on a clementine and some True North Pecan Almond Peanut clusters.  They are tasty!

I guess I’m on a roasted veggie kick, because that’s all I wanted for lunch today, with a hot mug of green tea and two slices of whole wheat toast.

Not surprisingly since I again did not eat enough for breakfast, I was hungry again a few hours later, and had my standard snack of whole wheat toast with 2 T almond butter and 1/2 T maple syrup.

And I had a few of these extremely gingery (and delicious!) ginger snaps..the rumor is that this is the same cookie as the Trader Joe’s Triple Ginger Snaps as well as the ginger snaps in the Whole Foods bin.  They are very crunchy and have bits of crystallized ginger.  They are spicy and delicious!

Dinner was kind of boring .. a baked sweet potato, some steamed green beans and freshly baked corn muffins.  I used the recipe that Lynn posted the image of here, except I subbed the honey for maple syrup and when I make it (I’ve made it 3 times now), I always get 12 muffins out of it and still have a little bit of batter leftover .. and this is filling the muffin pan to the top.

And tomorrow is New Year’s Eve.  I’m looking forward to 2011!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

