Happy 2011!

Happy New Year!  I feel old and boring .. we stayed in yesterday (as usual on NYE) evening, ate a nice homecooked meal, and celebrated New Year’s on East Coast time since that’s where we’re from and b/c I couldn’t stay up until midnight central time .. ha!  I actually fell asleep around 10:15 p.m. and my husband came to wake me up so we could ring in the new year together.

Yesterday, I made breakfast calzones with homemade whole wheat pizza dough.  Mine had 1 egg & 2 egg whites and sauteed spinach and onion.  My husband’s had eggs, ham, spinach and onion.  We dipped in salsa – delicious!

And then I guess I stopped taking pictures – ha!  We just had a really chill day.  I spent a lot of time in the kitchen cooking Julia Child’s recipe for boeuf bourgignon (insanely detailed but so tasty).  By the time I finished, made sides and sat down to eat, I was so hungry I didn’t stop to take pictures.  🙂

This morning, I got up and went for an easy 6 mile run.  After my pitbull run-in during my last run, I brought my phone and my pepper spray.  Now I am sipping a cup of tea and wondering whether I should eat something (not terribly hungry yet but I know I need to eat after running) or wait for my husband to wake up so we could eat together.

2010 was a good year.  I started a new job that I LOVE, with the best co-workers a person could ask for.  My husband and I grew closer together and celebrated our 3 year wedding anniversary.  I worked hard towards achieving balance in my everyday life, even though it still feels like a lot of effort and not very natural.  My goal is for it to become more natural.  Right now, it’s still kind of forced.  I have to plan it out (plan out my meals so that they’re normal and balanced, plan out my workouts so that I don’t overexercise) and it takes thought and effort.  It’s easier for me to be extreme.  I also just want to have more fun and treat myself well .. less rigid in my routine, worrying less about money (but still being responsible, of course), eating better food.  So yes.  2011 (as was 2010, and 2009) will still be for achieving more balance in my life.  I’m excited about it and wish you and yours a wonderful start to the new year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

